DAM Wiki
Side-by-side comparison

Pimcore vs Sitecore Content Hub

Built only from the frontmatter of each solution’s overview and API pages, which cite their sources. The two records differ on 23 of 25 fields recorded for both. No ranking or recommendation: follow the links to read each fact in context.

Pimcore (Digital Asset Management)

Pimcore GmbH · Salzburg, Austria
Overview verified 2026-10-29 · API page verified 2026-10-29

Sitecore Content Hub

Sitecore (Sitecore Corporation A/S) · Salem, NH (US HQ) / London / San Francisco — sources differ; Danish origin (Copenhagen)
Overview verified 2026-09-30 · API page verified 2026-10-27

Key differences

Fields recorded for both whose values differ · 23 of 25
Fields where Pimcore and Sitecore Content Hub have different recorded values
FieldPimcoreSitecore Content Hub
VendorPimcore GmbHSitecore (Sitecore Corporation A/S)
HQAustria (Salzburg)Salem, NH (US HQ) / London / San Francisco — sources differ; Danish origin (Copenhagen)
Founded20132001
Ownershipindependent (venture-backed; Series B led by Nordwind Growth, 2022)PE-backed (EQT)
Target marketMid-market, enterpriseEnterprise
DeploymentOn-premise, Private cloud, PaaSSaaS
Pricing modelannual subscription per edition (no per-user fees); Community free below EUR/USD 5M revenue; PaaS tiersquote-only; seat-based (Power / Consumer users, per-module seats); also sold within SitecoreAI entitlements
Public pricingYesNo
SSOOIDCSAML, OIDC, WS-Federation
CertificationsNone publishedISO 27001, ISO 27017, ISO 27018, SOC 2 Type 2, SOC 1 Type 2, CSA STAR L2, IRAP, TISAX AL2
Analyst coverageGartner MQ PIM 2026: Visionary (vendor-reported) · Gartner MQ MDM 2026: Niche Player · Gartner MQ DXP 2025: included (placement not stated) · Gartner Peer Insights VoC DXP 2024: Customers' ChoiceGartner MQ DAM Platforms 2025: Visionary · Gartner MQ Content Marketing Platforms 2026: Leader (Sitecore)
API style (overview)REST, GraphQL, webdavREST, GraphQL
Webhooks (overview)YesDatahub Webhooks, Enterprise edition onlyUI only
Official MCP serverYesself-hosted, experimental: Datahub Simple REST MCP endpoint (Enterprise) and Pimcore Agent MCP tool groupsNoContent Hub has none; the SitecoreAI Marketer MCP has 3 generic asset tools, target store unspecified
API base URLhttps://{host}/pimcore-graphql-webservices/{config} · https://{host}/pimcore-studio/apihttps://{tenant}.sitecorecontenthub.cloud/api
API stylesREST, GraphQL, WebDAVREST, GraphQL
AuthenticationAPI key, Session login, OAuth 2.0 PKCE, Personal tokenOAuth 2.0 authorization code, OAuth 2.0 client credentials, Personal token
Token lifetimeOAuth 2.1 (experimental): access 1 h, refresh 30 days (defaults); API keys staticAccess 1 h; refresh 90 days, rotated; legacy X-Auth-Token never expires
Rate limitStudio API 500 req/min per IP, MCP 3,000/min (defaults, configurable); Datahub: none documented15 req/s per API integration user (429 + Retry-After); Dev tenants 100/min
PaginationGraphQL first/after offset; Studio page/pageSize; Simple REST page_cursor (search_after)skip/take (Query capped at 10,000); SearchAfter cursor; Scroll (deprecating)
Webhooks (API)Datahub Webhooks (Enterprise): UI-configured, custom headers, no signature, one attemptNo REST webhook registry; UI triggers/actions (API call, Azure bus), Kafka feed
API specOpenAPI 3.1 for Studio API on GitHub (POCL, not archived); GraphQL schema per endpointOpenAPI 3.0 (13 files, 100 operations); some resources prose-only
Official SDKsnone official (PHP API in-process; Studio UI SDK for plugins).NET Web Client SDK, JavaScript SDK, ch-cli (official)

Same recorded value: Hosting regions, OpenAPI spec.

All fields side by side

From overview.md and api.md frontmatter · “—” = not recorded yet
Pimcore and Sitecore Content Hub: all comparison fields
FieldPimcoreSitecore Content Hub
Company
Vendor (values differ)Pimcore GmbHSitecore (Sitecore Corporation A/S)
HQ (values differ)Austria (Salzburg)Salem, NH (US HQ) / London / San Francisco — sources differ; Danish origin (Copenhagen)
Founded (values differ)20132001
Ownership (values differ)independent (venture-backed; Series B led by Nordwind Growth, 2022)PE-backed (EQT)
Product
Target market (values differ)Mid-market, enterpriseEnterprise
Deployment (values differ)On-premise, Private cloud, PaaSSaaS
Hosting regionsNot publicNot public
Pricing model (values differ)annual subscription per edition (no per-user fees); Community free below EUR/USD 5M revenue; PaaS tiersquote-only; seat-based (Power / Consumer users, per-module seats); also sold within SitecoreAI entitlements
Public pricing (values differ)YesNo
SSO (values differ)OIDCSAML, OIDC, WS-Federation
Certifications (values differ)None publishedISO 27001, ISO 27017, ISO 27018, SOC 2 Type 2, SOC 1 Type 2, CSA STAR L2, IRAP, TISAX AL2
Analyst coverage (values differ)Gartner MQ PIM 2026: Visionary (vendor-reported) · Gartner MQ MDM 2026: Niche Player · Gartner MQ DXP 2025: included (placement not stated) · Gartner Peer Insights VoC DXP 2024: Customers' ChoiceGartner MQ DAM Platforms 2025: Visionary · Gartner MQ Content Marketing Platforms 2026: Leader (Sitecore)
Integration
API style (overview) (values differ)REST, GraphQL, webdavREST, GraphQL
OpenAPI specPartialPartial
Webhooks (overview) (values differ)YesDatahub Webhooks, Enterprise edition onlyUI only
Official MCP server (values differ)Yesself-hosted, experimental: Datahub Simple REST MCP endpoint (Enterprise) and Pimcore Agent MCP tool groupsNoContent Hub has none; the SitecoreAI Marketer MCP has 3 generic asset tools, target store unspecified
API
API base URL (values differ)https://{host}/pimcore-graphql-webservices/{config} · https://{host}/pimcore-studio/apihttps://{tenant}.sitecorecontenthub.cloud/api
API styles (values differ)REST, GraphQL, WebDAVREST, GraphQL
Authentication (values differ)API key, Session login, OAuth 2.0 PKCE, Personal tokenOAuth 2.0 authorization code, OAuth 2.0 client credentials, Personal token
Token lifetime (values differ)OAuth 2.1 (experimental): access 1 h, refresh 30 days (defaults); API keys staticAccess 1 h; refresh 90 days, rotated; legacy X-Auth-Token never expires
Rate limit (values differ)Studio API 500 req/min per IP, MCP 3,000/min (defaults, configurable); Datahub: none documented15 req/s per API integration user (429 + Retry-After); Dev tenants 100/min
Pagination (values differ)GraphQL first/after offset; Studio page/pageSize; Simple REST page_cursor (search_after)skip/take (Query capped at 10,000); SearchAfter cursor; Scroll (deprecating)
Webhooks (API) (values differ)Datahub Webhooks (Enterprise): UI-configured, custom headers, no signature, one attemptNo REST webhook registry; UI triggers/actions (API call, Azure bus), Kafka feed
API spec (values differ)OpenAPI 3.1 for Studio API on GitHub (POCL, not archived); GraphQL schema per endpointOpenAPI 3.0 (13 files, 100 operations); some resources prose-only
Official SDKs (values differ)none official (PHP API in-process; Studio UI SDK for plugins).NET Web Client SDK, JavaScript SDK, ch-cli (official)

Sources

Company, product and integration fields come from each overview, where every fact carries its citation. API fields are backed by these sources:

Pimcore:S56S57S58S59S60S62S63S64S67S69S70S71S73S74S76S77S90All Pimcore sources →

Sitecore Content Hub:S1S2S16S17S20S23S26S27S28S29S30S43S45S47S49S50S51All Sitecore Content Hub sources →

Search the wiki