Hyland Nuxeo (the Nuxeo Platform) is a Java, API-first content services platform whose digital asset management capabilities (pictures, video, audio, 3D, compound assets, renditions, metadata extraction) ship in the core distribution since LTS 2021. It was built by the French-American company Nuxeo and has belonged to Hyland Software since 2021-04-08; Hyland now markets it as "Hyland Nuxeo" next to OnBase, Alfresco and Perceptive Content, and connects it to its AI layer, the Content Innovation Cloud. It targets large enterprises with heavy, custom content models (retail, CPG, fashion, manufacturing, media), configured with the low-code Nuxeo Studio and integrated through REST, Automation and CMIS APIs. The platform source code is Apache 2.0, but current builds, Docker images and many add-ons are distributed to subscribers only. It runs either as Nuxeo Cloud (a Hyland-managed PaaS on AWS) or self-hosted.
Key facts
| Vendor / HQ | Hyland Software, Inc., Westlake, Ohio (USA); CEO Jitesh Ghai since 2024-05-20 S86. Nuxeo Corporation was merged into Hyland Software, Inc. on 2022-04-01 S61. Before the deal Nuxeo was headquartered in New York with offices in the US, Europe and Asia; its code and docs still say "New York and Paris" S83 S21 |
|---|---|
| Founded | Nuxeo: 2000, by Stefane Fermigier; Eric Barroca CEO from December 2008; HQ moved to New York in 2014 S62. Unverified Nuxeo's own 2020 boilerplate says "founded in 2008" S79, probably counting from the 2008 relaunch under Barroca (inference). Hyland: 1991 S86 |
| Ownership & funding | Acquisition agreement announced 2021-03-04, closed 2021-04-08; price not disclosed S59 S60. Sellers: Goldman Sachs Merchant Banking and Kennet Partners S59. Earlier funding: USD 30 M in 2016 (USD 10 M Kennet Partners in June, USD 20 M Goldman Sachs in September) S84. Hyland is privately held; Thoma Bravo publishes Hyland's deal announcements as portfolio news S85 Unverified (Thoma Bravo's current stake size not found) |
| Employees (approx.) | Nuxeo at acquisition: Unknown (not disclosed in the deal releases) S59 S60. Hyland: about 1,000 jobs (20% of staff) cut in April 2023, i.e. roughly 5,000 before that S86 Unverified (derived) |
| Product line-up | Nuxeo Platform / Nuxeo Server (repository, REST/Automation/CMIS APIs, Web UI), with DAM document types (Picture, Video, Audio) built in since LTS 2021 S32; Nuxeo Studio (low-code configuration) S89; Nuxeo Cloud (managed PaaS) S67; Nuxeo Drive (desktop sync) S33; add-ons on the Nuxeo Marketplace (Retention, Cold Storage, 3D Viewer, Compound Documents, Adobe CC, Aspera, Frame.io, Salesforce, SCIM 2.0, AI…) S42; Nuxeo Insight (trainable AI, separate subscription) S63 S38. Hyland's Content Innovation Cloud (Knowledge Enrichment, Knowledge Discovery, Content Federation…) connects to Nuxeo S73 S74 |
| Deployment & hosting regions | Nuxeo Cloud: PaaS on AWS, one VPC and logically separated storage per customer, Production + Pre-Production + optional Development Sandbox; region picked from user location; maintenance windows defined for EU, US and APAC customers; DR across AWS regions, normally within the same geography S67 S68. Self-hosted: Tomcat ZIP or Docker image (amd64 production, arm64 dev only), Kubernetes Helm chart S22 S30. Also sold through AWS Marketplace as SaaS (private offers) S66 S65 |
| Notable customers (public references only) | TBWA Worldwide, ABN AMRO, BBVA (Hyland product pages) S63 S64; Electronic Arts, TBWA, ABN AMRO, CVS (2019) S83; Verizon, Electronic Arts, ABN Amro, U.S. Department of Defense (2020) S79. Customer count: Not public (Hyland overall cited "16,000+ customers" in 2021) S82 |
Positioning
- Hyland describes Nuxeo as a "highly scalable, cloud-native" enterprise content management product "with rich multimedia support", used for document management, DAM, workflow automation and information integration S63.
- DAM pitch: flexible metadata and content modelling for compound and 3D assets, high-volume ingestion and petabyte-scale storage, API-first integration with PLM/PIM/ERP/CMS, Elasticsearch/OpenSearch search, rights and retention controls S64. Hyland and AWS Marketplace copy cite a benchmark of 11 billion documents S90 S66 (11-billion-object test on AWS with MongoDB Atlas, 2020 S79).
- Differentiators seen by analysts: Forrester (Q1 2024) credits duplicate identification and "the strongest" 3D asset relationship model, and calls it a fit for "manufacturers, distributors, and retailers looking for a product-centric DAM" S76; Omdia (2023) lists retail, CPG, fashion, luxury, food and beverage, media and entertainment as target verticals S77.
- It is a platform more than a packaged marketing DAM: brand portals, public sharing or image transformation exist mostly as add-ons or sandbox samples, and projects are usually configured in Studio or code S36 S43 S44. Omdia recommended it to enterprises wanting DAM beyond sales and marketing S78.
- Inside Hyland, Nuxeo is one of four content repositories (OnBase, Alfresco, Nuxeo, Perceptive Content) that the Content Innovation Cloud, announced 2024-10-03, adds an AI and agent layer to without migration S70 S71 S74.
- Usual competitors in DAM evaluations: Adobe, Aprimo, Bynder, OpenText, Orange Logic (Forrester 2026 Leaders) S81; in content services: OpenText, Microsoft, IBM and other Gartner CSP vendors S79.
Pricing & licensing
- Quote-only. No price list; the AWS Marketplace listing is "request private offer" S66.
- Nuxeo Cloud contracts come with two service levels, Standard and Enhanced: both 99.9% monthly uptime; RPO/RTO 24 h / 8 h (Standard) vs 30 min / 30 min (Enhanced). The subscription includes Studio use, Marketplace add-ons ("most at no additional cost"), the Cloud Customer Console, and monthly and yearly usage reports (documents, storage, API activity) S67.
- Open-source status. The Nuxeo code is Apache License 2.0, with no closed "enterprise edition" (licences page) S20, and the public GitHub repository
nuxeo/nuxeo(default branch2025) is Apache-2.0 S21. In practice:- the latest LTS sources (hotfixes) live in a private
nuxeo/nuxeo-ltsrepository for those with access, while the public repo lags behind (last public 2025 commits 2026-06-30, version2025.22-SNAPSHOT) S21 S21; - the LTS 2025 Docker image is pulled from
docker-private.packages.nuxeo.comwith a user token from packages.nuxeo.com S22; - many official LTS 2025 Marketplace packages (Adobe connector, EasyShare, SCIM 2.0, 3D Viewer…) are "only available to Nuxeo Online Services customers", even when Apache 2.0 licensed S45 S47 S42;
- a few add-ons are proprietary, e.g. the Salesforce connector ("unpublished proprietary source code of Nuxeo SA") S51.
- In short: open-source code, but a subscription-gated product. Building and running the public sources without support is possible S21.
- the latest LTS sources (hotfixes) live in a private
- Trial: Hyland says the Q1 2026 release brings back instant self-service trial environments ("NOS Connect") S75. A Studio trial path exists for "Nuxeo Platform Trial Users" S89.
Security & compliance
- Certifications: Hyland's cloud platforms, Nuxeo Cloud included, get a SOC 2 Type II report covering Security, Availability, Confidentiality and Privacy; the report is shared under NDA. The Hyland Cloud IS Policy Suite is "aligned to" ISO 27001/27002 S67. Hyland's trust center lists ISO 27001, SOC 2 and HITRUST "for specific offerings or practices"; which apply to Nuxeo specifically is Unknown S69.
- Hosting security (Nuxeo Cloud): AWS; VPC per customer; WAF; TLS 1.2 in transit and AES-256 at rest; yearly third-party penetration test plus periodic vulnerability scans; backups of content, database and configuration kept 30 days; application logs 30 days active plus 1 year archive S67.
- SSO / identity: SAML 2.0 (add-on), OpenID/OIDC (OIDC Login add-on, Entra ID by default), Keycloak, CAS, Kerberos, LDAP/Active Directory, Shibboleth, plus OAuth 2.0 and JWT for API clients S5 S4 S42. Nuxeo Cloud supports SAML SSO to major IdPs S67. SCIM 2.0 provisioning is available as the
nuxeo-scim-v2package (released with LTS 2025) S15 S45. - Permissions & audit: document-level ACLs inherited down the tree, permissions granted with optional start and end dates S91, a Security Policy Service for metadata-based rules (e.g. "Confidential"), and a configurable audit trail of document and login events S36.
- Data protection: AES or S3 encryption of binaries, S3 client-side encryption with KMS keys (LTS 2025) S36 S15; records retention through the Nuxeo Retention add-on S42 S15, extended to Microsoft Azure in the Q4 2025 release S74.
- Accessibility: Web UI aligned with WCAG 2.1 AA / European Accessibility Act (Q4 2025 release) S74.
Analyst & market recognition
| Year | Recognition | Source |
|---|---|---|
| 2026 | Forrester Wave: Digital Asset Management Systems, Q1 2026 — Contender | S81 Unverified (trade-press comparison table; report paywalled, no Hyland release found) |
| 2026 | Gartner Magic Quadrant for Document Management — Hyland a Leader (company-level, not DAM-specific) | S63 S64 |
| 2024 | Forrester Wave: Digital Asset Management Systems, Q1 2024 — Strong Performer (Nuxeo Platform) | S76 |
| 2023 | Omdia Universe: Digital Asset Management, 2023 — Leader (10 vendors evaluated) | S77 |
| 2021 | Omdia "Selecting a Digital Asset Management Solution, 2021–22" — Leader | S78 |
| 2019 | Forrester Wave: DAM for Customer Experience, Q4 2019 — Strong Performer (search, scalability, metadata and taxonomy) | S80 |
| 2017–2020 | Gartner Magic Quadrant for Content Services Platforms — Visionary four years in a row | S79 |
G2 lists the product as "Hyland Nuxeo"; ratings not collected (page not read).
History
| Date | Event |
|---|---|
| 2000 | Nuxeo founded by Stefane Fermigier (first Python/Zope-based CPS stack) S62 |
| 2006 | Platform rewritten in Java/JEE S62 |
| 2008-12 | Eric Barroca becomes CEO; native SQL storage and REST API arrive the same year S62 |
| 2010 | Nuxeo Studio and Marketplace launched; CMIS support S62 |
| 2011 | Nuxeo Cloud 1.0 on AWS S62 |
| 2014 | HQ moved to New York; MongoDB storage S62 |
| 2015 | Elasticsearch integration S62 |
| 2016-09-08 | USD 20 M from Goldman Sachs, completing a USD 30 M round with Kennet Partners S84 |
| 2017–2020 | Visionary in the Gartner MQ for Content Services Platforms each year S79 |
| 2019 | Nuxeo Insight (AI) launched; revenue +32%, cloud revenue +63% S83 |
| 2021-01-21 | Nuxeo LTS 2021 released (DAM add-on folded into the core distribution) S19 S32 |
| 2021-03-04 | Hyland signs exclusive negotiations to acquire Nuxeo S59 |
| 2021-04-08 | Acquisition completed; Hyland calls itself the "largest open-source content services provider" (Alfresco + Nuxeo) S60 |
| 2022-04-01 | Nuxeo Corporation merged into Hyland Software, Inc. S61 |
| 2023-06-26 | Hyland Nuxeo listed in AWS Marketplace S65 |
| 2023-07-18 | Nuxeo LTS 2023 released S19 |
| 2024-10-03 | Hyland unveils the Content Innovation Cloud, to unify OnBase, Alfresco, Nuxeo and Perceptive Content S70 |
| 2025-03-31 | Nuxeo LTS 2025 released S19 S14 |
| 2025-06-02 | LTS 2025.3: OAuth 2.0 Client Credentials flow S16 |
| 2026-03-05 | nuxeo-mcp-server repository created in the nuxeo GitHub org S24 |
| 2026-05-30 – 06-02 | CommunityLIVE 2026 (Orlando) features Nuxeo next to the Content Innovation Cloud S71 |
| 2026-09-14 | LTS 2025.25 (latest update found) S14 |