Portfolio is a self-hosted digital asset management server that catalogs files where they already live (network shares or a managed "Vault") and serves them through browser, desktop and admin clients, a NetPublish web-publishing module and a REST API. It was developed for three decades by Extensis (Portland, Oregon), best known for font management, and was sold in March 2026 to Axle AI, which now develops, sells and supports it through a dedicated subsidiary, Portfolio DAM, LLC, under the name Portfolio DAM. Its distinguishing trait is a deliberate on-premise, no-public-cloud positioning aimed at archives, cultural institutions, creative and prepress workgroups. Version 4.0.1 is the last Extensis release; 4.1.1, the first under the new owner, was announced as a beta in 2026.
Key facts
| Vendor / HQ | Portfolio DAM, LLC, a division/subsidiary of Axle AI, Inc., Woburn, Massachusetts (USA) S54 S77. CEO Sam Bogoch (Axle AI); product manager Richard Bamford, a 20-year Portfolio specialist based in the UK S54 S57. Former owner: Extensis (legal name Celartem, Inc. dba Extensis), Portland, Oregon, a Monotype company since 2024 S55 S60 S61 |
|---|---|
| Founded | Portfolio DAM, LLC: 2026 S54. Axle AI: 2018 S54. Extensis: 1993, Portland S60. Product origin: Aldus Fetch, a media cataloguing tool later published by Adobe, acquired by Extensis on 1996-07-01 and renamed Portfolio S62 S63 Unverified (community sources only) |
| Ownership & funding | Owned by Axle AI, Inc. since the deal announced 2026-03-09; price not disclosed S54 S55 S56. Earlier owners of Extensis: CreativePro.com → ImageX (2000) → Celartem Technology (2002) S61 → Monotype (2024-11-18) S59. Axle AI funding: Unknown |
| Employees (approx.) | Not public |
| Product line-up | Portfolio Server (catalogs; ships PostgreSQL, Elasticsearch and Tomcat services per its port list), Portfolio Administration (web), Portfolio Web client, Portfolio Desktop client (Electron), NetPublish (gallery-to-website publishing), Media Engine (extra conversion/watermark capacity), Portfolio Flow mobile upload app, REST API S21 S25 S14 S30 S52. Bundled by the new owner with Axle AI's Connectr (workflow automation) and Axle AI Tags (on-premise AI tagging) S58 S72. Extensis keeps its font products (Extensis Connect, rebranded Monotype Connect in 2026) S56 S71 |
| Deployment & hosting regions | Customer-hosted only: physical or virtual servers on premises, or the customer's own cloud VMs (AWS, Azure, OVH named); containerised deployment "upon inquiry"; no vendor-run public cloud S47. Server OS: Windows Server 2012 R2–2022 or Intel macOS (10.15–12); 4.1.1 adds Windows 10/11 desktop as an entry-level server S19 S52. Hosting regions: N/A |
| Notable customers (public references only) | World Bank (12,000+ users), Grandi Stazioni (Italy), 1-800-Flowers, University of Cape Town, OHSU (pathology), Walk Wheel Cycle Trust, Gardens Alive! (275,000 assets) S47 S48 S49 S57. Customer count: see Unverified under Positioning |
Positioning
- Marketed as "on-premise digital asset management for your team — no cloud required": the server runs in the customer's network and catalogs files on local storage, NAS or cloud buckets S47. The new owner frames the 2026 deal as riding a shift back to on-premise creative workflows driven by cloud cost and security concerns S54 S58.
- Segments named by the vendor: archives, museums, libraries, universities (exhibitor at the Society of American Archivists' 2026 conference) S53; packaging/commercial printers, CPG brands, creative and prepress providers (ICScolor bundles) S58; small workgroups of 5–10 users on desktop hardware S57.
- Typical use: a central, metadata-rich catalog of images, video, audio, documents and geospatial files (MrSID, JPEG 2000) with conversion on download and external sharing via NetPublish sites S34 S27.
- Sits next to Axle AI's media asset management (MAM) product; resellers can sell both lines S51 S72.
- Customer count Unverified (vendor figures differ): "over 1,500 customer sites worldwide" in the March 2026 wire release, which reads as Axle AI + Portfolio combined S57; Axle AI alone "over 1,000" sites S54 S55; Portfolio alone "over 500 enterprise sites" in September 2026 S58. The vendor says its published case studies cover about 1% of deployments S50.
- Competitors: Not stated by the vendor; no analyst comparison found (Unknown).
Pricing & licensing
- Model: account-based subscription. Licences are attached to a Portfolio DAM account (email) rather than to hardware; the Licenses panel shows seat count, asset limit and expiry. Extra client seats, "asset packs" and add-on modules are bought from an account representative or reseller S23. Media Engines and NetPublish are licensed separately S25 S29. Extensis described the API as a "licensed add-on" S9.
- Expiry: the server keeps running in a limited read-only mode for a grace period; after that ingestion and client connections may be restricted; data is kept S23.
- Activation needs an outbound HTTPS connection to the licence server (offline activation on request for air-gapped sites) S23 S14.
- Trial: 30-day evaluation system with full API access, on Windows or Windows Server with ≥32 GB RAM S10 S22.
- Public prices: only the turnkey bundles launched with ICScolor on 2026-09-17 (software + Dell hardware, Connectr, ICS Remote Director proofing): USD 5,995/yr (2 users), 8,995/yr (5 users), up to 18,995/yr (5 users + Axle AI Tags on a GPU server); software-only configurations on request S58. Standalone Portfolio prices: Not public. (Historical reference: Portfolio Server 9 listed at USD 6,050 + 315 per client in 2009 S70.)
- After the sale, existing contracts are fulfilled by the Portfolio team S54; a reseller states pricing models were unchanged S71.
Security & compliance
- Certifications: none published (no ISO 27001/SOC 2 found) — Unknown. As self-hosted software, infrastructure security is the customer's responsibility.
- Data residency: asset content, catalogs and metadata never leave the customer's infrastructure; only licence information, optional crash reports and anonymous usage analytics are sent (analytics can be disabled) S43. GDPR: vendor states commitment, no certification S43.
- Authentication: native accounts, Active Directory bind over LDAP/LDAPS with group mapping, and Single Sign-On via Kerberos when the server runs on Windows with AD S16 S17 S18 S79 S81. SAML/OIDC: not documented (Unknown). Portfolio Administration rejects directory-authenticated logins S13.
- Transport: HTTPS ports for clients (9443), admin (9453) and NetPublish; a custom certificate is required for client SSL; older TLS versions can be disabled S13 S14 S27. The vendor advises against exposing Administration to the Internet and recommends VPN for remote work S80 S37.
- Vulnerability history: in February 2022 White Oak Security publicly disclosed five high-risk flaws in 3.6.3 and 4.0 (hard-coded credentials, several authenticated file-upload RCEs) after 164 days without a vendor fix S69; Extensis fixed them in 4.0.1, which also bumped log4j to 2.17.2 S65. 4.1.1 upgrades Tomcat (9.0.58 → 9.0.115) and the Java runtime (Oracle JRE 1.8.0_151 → Azul 1.8.0_481) S52.
- Audit: asset upload, download, preview and deletion reports, plus an asset-deletion audit endpoint S29 S1.
Analyst & market recognition
| Year | Recognition | Source |
|---|---|---|
| — | No Gartner, Forrester or IDC DAM evaluation including Portfolio was found (2024–2026) | Unknown |
History
| Date | Milestone |
|---|---|
| 1993 | Extensis founded in Portland, Oregon S60 |
| 1996-07-01 | Extensis acquires Aldus/Adobe Fetch, later renamed Extensis Portfolio S63 Unverified |
| 2000 / 2002 | Extensis (with CreativePro.com) sold to ImageX, then to Japan's Celartem Technology S61 |
| 2009-06-30 | Portfolio Server 9: Java server, Flex web client, MediaRich processing S70 |
| 2016–2017 (approx.) | Portfolio 2016 (v2.x): Vault catalogs, then Smart Keywords AI tagging in 2.5.1 S67 Unverified (release notes undated) |
| 2018-01-30 | Portfolio workflow automation with the Corbit engine (Laidback Solutions) S68 |
| 2018-11-21 | Current public REST API OpenAPI document published (file date) S1 |
| 2021-06 | Portfolio 4.0 (private shared galleries, Flash-free admin, NetPublish improvements) S66 S65 |
| 2022-02-17 | Public disclosure of five CVEs; fixed in 4.0.1 (2022 Unverified inferred: release notes undated) S69 S65 |
| 2024-11-18 | Monotype acquires Extensis S59 |
| 2026-03-09 | Axle AI acquires Portfolio; new subsidiary Portfolio DAM, LLC; 4.1.1 beta announced S54 S55 S57 |
| 2026-07 | Knowledge base re-published on help.portfoliodam.com S46 |
| 2026-09-17 | Turnkey Portfolio DAM + ICScolor bundles (Printing United) S58 |