DAM Wiki

Brandworkz

Brandworkz Ltd · London, UK · Founded 1997 · subsidiary of Spinakr Solutions LLC (USA)Verified 2026-10-01 · 66 sources
  • SaaS
  • Mid-market to enterprise
  • REST API
  • SAML SSO
Complete · 7 of 7 pages
66sources
2API specs
10-01verified 2026
Official website ↗Brandworkz alternatives →

Brandworkz is a SaaS brand management platform built in London since 1997 by Brandworkz Ltd (originally Globus Media), and owned since April 2023 by Spinakr Solutions, a Dallas-based consulting firm that had been its North American reseller since 2015. Around a DAM core it bundles a brand-guidelines CMS, a Logo Finder, web-to-print templates based on CHILI publish, approval workflow with annotation, albums/sharing, a public Brand Kit and reporting. It targets marketing and brand teams in mid-sized to large organisations, with notable use in financial services, higher education and multi-brand groups. The REST API (v1.6 docs, v1.7 in production since January 2025) is documented in a public Postman collection; it is reserved for the Enterprise plan.

Key facts

Vendor / HQBrandworkz Ltd, registered in England and Wales (company no. 03375289), registered office in London N5 S57 S10; London office and US phone line S28 S10
Founded1997 (vendor) S21; company incorporated 1997-05-23 as Globus Media Limited, renamed Brandworkz Ltd on 2012-08-23 S57. Founder: Jens Lundgaard (founder & CEO at the time of the 2015 partnership) S24 S23
Ownership & fundingAcquired on 2023-04-19 by Spinakr Solutions, LLC (Dallas, Texas; President & CEO Matt McGaughey); terms not disclosed S23 S25. Spinakr had been Brandworkz's exclusive reseller and implementation partner for North America since 2015 S24. No external funding rounds found (Unknown)
Employees (approx.)Not public
Product line-upDAM; Brand Guidelines (CMS); Logo Finder; Digital & Print Templates (web-to-publish, CHILI-based Dynamic Templates); Approval Workflow; Showcase; Order Widget; MS Office integration; Reporting / Brand Insights; multi-brand and multilingual options S12 S15 S39. Free Brandworkz Essentials plan (online brand kit) S12. Beta in 2026: Identity Gateway (multi-site access hub) and AI Knowledge Assistant S31
Deployment & hosting regionsMulti-tenant SaaS on AWS; UK and other clients hosted in AWS Ireland across several data centres, disaster recovery in Frankfurt S58 S20. A regional API host us-api.brandworkz.com appears in the API docs, and the global getAPIURL call resolves the site's "geographical hosting location" S1 — US hosting is therefore likely but not stated elsewhere Unverified. Downloads through AWS CloudFront S20
Notable customers (public references only)Boeing, Hitachi, Brother, Reckitt, Hoover, Dr. Martens, Norton, JLL, Metropolitan Police, Royal Free University Hospital, Goldsmiths, Neom, British Land, Cambridge University Press, University of Greenwich, Baker Tilly, Rathbones, Mitsubishi Motors, Icebreaker, Gold's Gym (logos/case studies) S10 S11; Zoetis, MONIN S28. In 2015: Silicon Valley Bank, Transitions Optical, Aetna, Ally Financial in North America S24. Claimed reach: "100,000 marketers" S11 S15; customer count Not public

Positioning

  • Sells itself as brand management software rather than a pure DAM: the pitch is brand consistency (guidelines, logos, templates, Office documents) for marketers, with the DAM as the storage layer S10 S15.
  • Verticals highlighted on the site: finance, brand-centric businesses, higher education, construction/real estate; challenges: enterprise, franchise organisations, rebrands S10.
  • Distinctive scope: a built-in page CMS for brand guidelines and group home pages, CHILI-based web-to-print with ordering, an Office add-in distributing Word/PowerPoint templates, and Elasticsearch/Kibana-based search and reporting S40 S33 S1.
  • Analyst view (2014): Real Story Group described Brandworkz as a smaller, previously workgroup-oriented DAM vendor moving up-market, easy to configure and with WCM-like site templating S62.
  • Commonly compared vendors in its segment (brand portals with templates): Unknown from primary sources; not asserted here.

Pricing & licensing

  • Four plans; price "based purely on the number of users and the plan", unlimited storage on all paid plans S12:
PlanPriceAdds (cumulative)
EssentialsFree ("free forever")Online brand kit, logo management, colour guidelines, font management, asset filtering, public brand site, custom URL, guided setup
CoreQuoteDAM, Brand Guidelines, Logo Finder, fully branded site, reporting, Brand Insights, albums
Professional ("most popular")QuoteWeb-to-Publish, Workflow, SSO, Showcase, Order Widget, Adobe integration, MS Office integration
EnterpriseQuoteMultichannel, multilingual, CMS / image-library / CRM integrations, API, custom dashboards
  • The UK G-Cloud 14 service definition lists a price of £26.52 per user per year and no free trial S58 Unverified (public-sector framework price; not shown on the vendor's pricing page and may not reflect commercial pricing).
  • No self-service trial for paid plans; demo/quote S12.

Security & compliance

  • ISO 27001 (ISO 27001:2013, all 114 Annex A controls, annual external audit), first certified in February 2020 S21 S22; the G-Cloud listing cites an NQA certificate dated 2021-07-13 S58.
  • Cyber Essentials Plus S58. WCAG 2.1 compliance claimed for the web app S21.
  • Hosting on AWS with replication across three availability zones and real-time backup to another country; encryption at rest AES-256 and TLS 1.2+ in transit S20. Unverified The G-Cloud listing states AES-128 at rest S58 — the two vendor documents differ.
  • Penetration testing by an independent company before each release (website) or "at least every 6 months" by a CHECK provider (G-Cloud); daily Tenable/Nessus scanning, AWS Inspector S20 S58.
  • SSO: SAML 2.0 (Okta catalog app, Microsoft Entra ID guide), just-in-time user provisioning and IdP-group-to-permission-group mapping; 2FA available S20 S53 S45. SSO is a Professional-plan feature S12. SCIM: not documented (Unknown).
  • Availability: 99.9% SLA commitment (99.98%+ track record claimed), service credits S20 S58. Support SLA: Urgent/High faults answered within 4 working hours, target resolution 8 h / 24 working hours; maintenance releases monthly S43.
  • Audit: reporting on downloads, views, logins, album shares and CMS page activity S33; group member and permission exports (10.9) S31.

Analyst & market recognition

YearRecognitionSource
2014–Covered in Real Story Group's DAM vendor evaluations (one of 27 vendors in the DAM stream) S61 S62
2021G2: "Easiest Digital Asset Management Vendor to do Business With" (Fall 2021) S21
2019G2: DAM High Performer (Spring 2019); B2B Marketing Martech Awards winner (employee engagement) S21

No Gartner Magic Quadrant, Forrester Wave or IDC MarketScape placement was found in public sources (2026-10-01).

History

DateEvent
1997-05-23Globus Media Limited incorporated in England S57; Brandworkz dates its founding to 1997 S21
2012-08-23Company renamed Brandworkz Ltd S57
2014-12-05Real Story Group adds Brandworkz to its DAM research S62
2015-07-07Sales partnership: Spinakr Solutions becomes exclusive reseller/implementer for USA and Canada (45% of turnover already from North America) S24
2016-11-14Brandworkz 8.0 (new DAM interface, side panel, albums, drag-and-drop) S26
2020-02ISO 27001 certification S22
2022 (≤ 11-30)Version 9.0: Brand & Skinning, public Brand Kit, logo auto-tagging S42
2023-04-19Spinakr Solutions acquires Brandworkz; version 10 announced as imminent S23
2023 (≤ 09-21)10.1: Word/PowerPoint templates in the Office add-in S40
2025-01-18Java API v1.7 in production (breaking changes to search and albums) S5
2026 (≤ 06-22)10.9: Groups redesign; Identity Gateway and AI Knowledge Assistant in beta S31
Hosting regions2EU, US · SaaS
PricingQuote onlyper-user plan tiers (free Essentials; Core, Professional, Enterprise quote-only), unlimited storage
Compliance
  • ISO 27001
  • CYBER-ESSENTIALS-PLUS
SAML SSO
Search the wiki