DAM Wiki
Side-by-side comparison

Pimcore vs ResourceSpace

Built only from the frontmatter of each solution’s overview and API pages, which cite their sources. The two records differ on 24 of 25 fields recorded for both. No ranking or recommendation: follow the links to read each fact in context.

Pimcore (Digital Asset Management)

Pimcore GmbH · Salzburg, Austria
Overview verified 2026-10-29 · API page verified 2026-10-29

ResourceSpace

Montala Limited · Watchfield, Oxfordshire, UK
Overview verified 2026-10-29 · API page verified 2026-10-29

Key differences

Fields recorded for both whose values differ · 24 of 25
Fields where Pimcore and ResourceSpace have different recorded values
FieldPimcoreResourceSpace
VendorPimcore GmbHMontala Limited
HQAustria (Salzburg)UK (Watchfield, Oxfordshire)
Founded20132006
Ownershipindependent (venture-backed; Series B led by Nordwind Growth, 2022)independent (100% employee-owned via an Employee Ownership Trust since 2020-10)
Target marketMid-market, enterpriseMid-market
DeploymentOn-premise, Private cloud, PaaSSaaS, On-premise
Hosting regionsNot publicUK
Pricing modelannual subscription per edition (no per-user fees); Community free below EUR/USD 5M revenue; PaaS tiersfree open-source software (BSD-style licence); paid annual hosting + support packages (4 public tiers)
SSOOIDCSAML, LDAP
CertificationsNone publishedISO 27001
Analyst coverageGartner MQ PIM 2026: Visionary (vendor-reported) · Gartner MQ MDM 2026: Niche Player · Gartner MQ DXP 2025: included (placement not stated) · Gartner Peer Insights VoC DXP 2024: Customers' ChoiceNot public
API style (overview)REST, GraphQL, webdavREST
OpenAPI specPartialNo
Webhooks (overview)YesDatahub Webhooks, Enterprise edition onlyPartialAPI Webhooks plugin: user-triggered outbound POST buttons, no event subscriptions
Official MCP serverYesself-hosted, experimental: Datahub Simple REST MCP endpoint (Enterprise) and Pimcore Agent MCP tool groupsNoMCP API interface on the official 11.1 roadmap, planned 2027-02-23, status Scoping; unreleased prototype in a public SVN branch
API base URLhttps://{host}/pimcore-graphql-webservices/{config} · https://{host}/pimcore-studio/apihttps://{host}/api/
API stylesREST, GraphQL, WebDAVREST
AuthenticationAPI key, Session login, OAuth 2.0 PKCE, Personal tokenAPI key, Session login
Token lifetimeOAuth 2.1 (experimental): access 1 h, refresh 30 days (defaults); API keys staticUser key: no expiry documented; session key tied to login session
Rate limitStudio API 500 req/min per IP, MCP 3,000/min (defaults, configurable); Datahub: none documentedNone documented (API throttling on the 11.2 roadmap, not yet scheduled)
PaginationGraphQL first/after offset; Studio page/pageSize; Simple REST page_cursor (search_after)offset (do_search fetchrows "offset,limit" returns total + data; offset param)
Webhooks (API)Datahub Webhooks (Enterprise): UI-configured, custom headers, no signature, one attemptnone (API Webhooks plugin = user-triggered outbound POST buttons)
API specOpenAPI 3.1 for Studio API on GitHub (POCL, not archived); GraphQL schema per endpointnone published (KB-described per-instance OpenAPI generator absent from 11.0 code)
Official SDKsnone official (PHP API in-process; Studio UI SDK for plugins)none official (built-in API test tool generates PHP and cURL code)

Same recorded value: Public pricing.

All fields side by side

From overview.md and api.md frontmatter · “—” = not recorded yet
Pimcore and ResourceSpace: all comparison fields
FieldPimcoreResourceSpace
Company
Vendor (values differ)Pimcore GmbHMontala Limited
HQ (values differ)Austria (Salzburg)UK (Watchfield, Oxfordshire)
Founded (values differ)20132006
Ownership (values differ)independent (venture-backed; Series B led by Nordwind Growth, 2022)independent (100% employee-owned via an Employee Ownership Trust since 2020-10)
Product
Target market (values differ)Mid-market, enterpriseMid-market
Deployment (values differ)On-premise, Private cloud, PaaSSaaS, On-premise
Hosting regions (values differ)Not publicUK
Pricing model (values differ)annual subscription per edition (no per-user fees); Community free below EUR/USD 5M revenue; PaaS tiersfree open-source software (BSD-style licence); paid annual hosting + support packages (4 public tiers)
Public pricingYesYes
SSO (values differ)OIDCSAML, LDAP
Certifications (values differ)None publishedISO 27001
Analyst coverage (values differ)Gartner MQ PIM 2026: Visionary (vendor-reported) · Gartner MQ MDM 2026: Niche Player · Gartner MQ DXP 2025: included (placement not stated) · Gartner Peer Insights VoC DXP 2024: Customers' ChoiceNot public
Integration
API style (overview) (values differ)REST, GraphQL, webdavREST
OpenAPI spec (values differ)PartialNo
Webhooks (overview) (values differ)YesDatahub Webhooks, Enterprise edition onlyPartialAPI Webhooks plugin: user-triggered outbound POST buttons, no event subscriptions
Official MCP server (values differ)Yesself-hosted, experimental: Datahub Simple REST MCP endpoint (Enterprise) and Pimcore Agent MCP tool groupsNoMCP API interface on the official 11.1 roadmap, planned 2027-02-23, status Scoping; unreleased prototype in a public SVN branch
API
API base URL (values differ)https://{host}/pimcore-graphql-webservices/{config} · https://{host}/pimcore-studio/apihttps://{host}/api/
API styles (values differ)REST, GraphQL, WebDAVREST
Authentication (values differ)API key, Session login, OAuth 2.0 PKCE, Personal tokenAPI key, Session login
Token lifetime (values differ)OAuth 2.1 (experimental): access 1 h, refresh 30 days (defaults); API keys staticUser key: no expiry documented; session key tied to login session
Rate limit (values differ)Studio API 500 req/min per IP, MCP 3,000/min (defaults, configurable); Datahub: none documentedNone documented (API throttling on the 11.2 roadmap, not yet scheduled)
Pagination (values differ)GraphQL first/after offset; Studio page/pageSize; Simple REST page_cursor (search_after)offset (do_search fetchrows "offset,limit" returns total + data; offset param)
Webhooks (API) (values differ)Datahub Webhooks (Enterprise): UI-configured, custom headers, no signature, one attemptnone (API Webhooks plugin = user-triggered outbound POST buttons)
API spec (values differ)OpenAPI 3.1 for Studio API on GitHub (POCL, not archived); GraphQL schema per endpointnone published (KB-described per-instance OpenAPI generator absent from 11.0 code)
Official SDKs (values differ)none official (PHP API in-process; Studio UI SDK for plugins)none official (built-in API test tool generates PHP and cURL code)

Sources

Company, product and integration fields come from each overview, where every fact carries its citation. API fields are backed by these sources:

Pimcore:S56S57S58S59S60S62S63S64S67S69S70S71S73S74S76S77S90All Pimcore sources →

ResourceSpace:S1S2S4S6S7S10S12S15S23S101All ResourceSpace sources →

Search the wiki