DAM Wiki
Side-by-side comparison

Phraseanet vs Pimcore

Built only from the frontmatter of each solution’s overview and API pages, which cite their sources. The two records differ on 22 of 25 fields recorded for both. No ranking or recommendation: follow the links to read each fact in context.

Phraseanet

Alchemy · Paris, France
Overview verified 2026-10-29 · API page verified 2026-10-29

Pimcore (Digital Asset Management)

Pimcore GmbH · Salzburg, Austria
Overview verified 2026-10-29 · API page verified 2026-10-29

Key differences

Fields recorded for both whose values differ · 22 of 25
Fields where Phraseanet and Pimcore have different recorded values
FieldPhraseanetPimcore
VendorAlchemyPimcore GmbH
HQFrance (Paris)Austria (Salzburg)
Founded19962013
Ownershipindependent (privately held French SARL)independent (venture-backed; Series B led by Nordwind Growth, 2022)
Target marketSMB to enterprise (companies, public sector, photographers)Mid-market, enterprise
DeploymentSaaS, On-premiseOn-premise, Private cloud, PaaS
Pricing modelfree open-source licence; SaaS plans by workspaces, storage and request quotas (from €169/month); services packsannual subscription per edition (no per-user fees); Community free below EUR/USD 5M revenue; PaaS tiers
SSOSAML, OIDCOIDC
Analyst coverageNot publicGartner MQ PIM 2026: Visionary (vendor-reported) · Gartner MQ MDM 2026: Niche Player · Gartner MQ DXP 2025: included (placement not stated) · Gartner Peer Insights VoC DXP 2024: Customers' Choice
API style (overview)RESTREST, GraphQL, webdav
OpenAPI specYesPartial
Webhooks (overview)YesYesDatahub Webhooks, Enterprise edition only
Official MCP serverNoYesself-hosted, experimental: Datahub Simple REST MCP endpoint (Enterprise) and Pimcore Agent MCP tool groups
API base URLPhrasea: https://api-databox.{domain}/ · Phraseanet: https://{host}/api/v3/https://{host}/pimcore-graphql-webservices/{config} · https://{host}/pimcore-studio/api
API stylesRESTREST, GraphQL, WebDAV
AuthenticationOAuth 2.0 authorization code, OAuth 2.0 PKCE, OAuth 2.0 client credentials, OAuth 2.0 password, API keyAPI key, Session login, OAuth 2.0 PKCE, Personal token
Token lifetimePhrasea: Keycloak realm setting (Not public); Phraseanet v1: tokens do not expireOAuth 2.1 (experimental): access 1 h, refresh 30 days (defaults); API keys static
Rate limitPhraseanet v1: none; Phrasea SaaS plans: 5-40 concurrent requests + request quotasStudio API 500 req/min per IP, MCP 3,000/min (defaults, configurable); Datahub: none documented
PaginationPhrasea: page + limit (max 100); Phraseanet v3: offset/limit or page/per_page (max 100)GraphQL first/after offset; Studio page/pageSize; Simple REST page_cursor (search_after)
Webhooks (API)Phrasea: admin-managed entity events, unsigned; Phraseanet: per OAuth app, 17 eventsDatahub Webhooks (Enterprise): UI-configured, custom headers, no signature, one attempt
API specOpenAPI 3.1.0 Databox (239 ops) + Expose (37 ops); Phraseanet v3 OpenAPI 3.0.3 (7 ops)OpenAPI 3.1 for Studio API on GitHub (POCL, not archived); GraphQL schema per endpoint
Official SDKsPhraseanet PHP SDK (last release 2021); no official Phrasea SDKnone official (PHP API in-process; Studio UI SDK for plugins)

Same recorded value: Hosting regions, Public pricing, Certifications.

All fields side by side

From overview.md and api.md frontmatter · “—” = not recorded yet
Phraseanet and Pimcore: all comparison fields
FieldPhraseanetPimcore
Company
Vendor (values differ)AlchemyPimcore GmbH
HQ (values differ)France (Paris)Austria (Salzburg)
Founded (values differ)19962013
Ownership (values differ)independent (privately held French SARL)independent (venture-backed; Series B led by Nordwind Growth, 2022)
Product
Target market (values differ)SMB to enterprise (companies, public sector, photographers)Mid-market, enterprise
Deployment (values differ)SaaS, On-premiseOn-premise, Private cloud, PaaS
Hosting regionsNot publicNot public
Pricing model (values differ)free open-source licence; SaaS plans by workspaces, storage and request quotas (from €169/month); services packsannual subscription per edition (no per-user fees); Community free below EUR/USD 5M revenue; PaaS tiers
Public pricingYesYes
SSO (values differ)SAML, OIDCOIDC
CertificationsNone publishedNone published
Analyst coverage (values differ)Not publicGartner MQ PIM 2026: Visionary (vendor-reported) · Gartner MQ MDM 2026: Niche Player · Gartner MQ DXP 2025: included (placement not stated) · Gartner Peer Insights VoC DXP 2024: Customers' Choice
Integration
API style (overview) (values differ)RESTREST, GraphQL, webdav
OpenAPI spec (values differ)YesPartial
Webhooks (overview) (values differ)YesYesDatahub Webhooks, Enterprise edition only
Official MCP server (values differ)NoYesself-hosted, experimental: Datahub Simple REST MCP endpoint (Enterprise) and Pimcore Agent MCP tool groups
API
API base URL (values differ)Phrasea: https://api-databox.{domain}/ · Phraseanet: https://{host}/api/v3/https://{host}/pimcore-graphql-webservices/{config} · https://{host}/pimcore-studio/api
API styles (values differ)RESTREST, GraphQL, WebDAV
Authentication (values differ)OAuth 2.0 authorization code, OAuth 2.0 PKCE, OAuth 2.0 client credentials, OAuth 2.0 password, API keyAPI key, Session login, OAuth 2.0 PKCE, Personal token
Token lifetime (values differ)Phrasea: Keycloak realm setting (Not public); Phraseanet v1: tokens do not expireOAuth 2.1 (experimental): access 1 h, refresh 30 days (defaults); API keys static
Rate limit (values differ)Phraseanet v1: none; Phrasea SaaS plans: 5-40 concurrent requests + request quotasStudio API 500 req/min per IP, MCP 3,000/min (defaults, configurable); Datahub: none documented
Pagination (values differ)Phrasea: page + limit (max 100); Phraseanet v3: offset/limit or page/per_page (max 100)GraphQL first/after offset; Studio page/pageSize; Simple REST page_cursor (search_after)
Webhooks (API) (values differ)Phrasea: admin-managed entity events, unsigned; Phraseanet: per OAuth app, 17 eventsDatahub Webhooks (Enterprise): UI-configured, custom headers, no signature, one attempt
API spec (values differ)OpenAPI 3.1.0 Databox (239 ops) + Expose (37 ops); Phraseanet v3 OpenAPI 3.0.3 (7 ops)OpenAPI 3.1 for Studio API on GitHub (POCL, not archived); GraphQL schema per endpoint
Official SDKs (values differ)Phraseanet PHP SDK (last release 2021); no official Phrasea SDKnone official (PHP API in-process; Studio UI SDK for plugins)

Sources

Company, product and integration fields come from each overview, where every fact carries its citation. API fields are backed by these sources:

Phraseanet:S22S28S34S35S36S37S39S40S43S44S45S47S49S50S51S53S54S62S67S76S15All Phraseanet sources →

Pimcore:S56S57S58S59S60S62S63S64S67S69S70S71S73S74S76S77S90All Pimcore sources →

Search the wiki